Our Parish

Our Parish

The congregation traces its root to 1990 when a handful of members came together to form a small prayer group to lead a spiritual life in an alien country. Battling enormous challenges, the congregation grew from strength to strength and today there are more than 100 families.

The congregation was recognised as a parish on November 1, 1998, by the order (Kalpana) of the late Catholicos, His Holiness Baselious Mar Thoma Mathews II. Thus, the St Thomas Indian Church came into being and Rev. Fr. Thomas Varghese, was ordained Priest by His Holiness in Sydney on October 24, 1998, and was appointed as Vicar for our cathedral

As the congregation expanded rapidly, members joined hands to buy a plot of land in Wattle Grove and built a beautiful Church. The newly erected church was consecrated on November 13, 2005 by His Grace Yakob Mar Irenaios, who has been a constant source of encouragement and guiding spirit to this vibrant and young congregation.

On the same day of consecration, by the order (Kalpana) of the late Catholicos His Holiness Baselios Marthoma Didymus I, the church was elevated to the status of a Cathedral in the Madras Diocese.

Henceforth, the Church would be known as St. Thomas Indian Orthodox Cathedral, Sydney.

The Cathedral is dedicated to the three saints of Malankara; Parumala Mar Gregerious, Vattesseril Geevarghese Mar Dionysius and Kothamangalam Eldo Mar Baselious. Relics of Parumala Thirumeni and Vattasseril Thirumeni are displayed at the two side altars of the Cathedral for public veneration.

The congregration has come a long way, helped by generosity of its members together with tireless and selfless service of Rev. Fr. Thomas Varghese and his family and above all the blessings from Almighty Lord.

There are many spiritual organisations in the parish, such as Sunday School, Orthodox Youth, MGOCSM, Martha Mariam Samajam aiding the spiritual and social growth of all sections of the Cathedral.

Over the years, our Cathedral has received support and encouragement from several visiting Bishops and priests, who took time out of their busy schedules to guide us through our growth. The congregation would like to place on record its sincere gratitude to all the dignitaries for their blessings and prayers and look forward to their continued help in our journey ahead.

1. The late Catholicos His Holiness Baselios Marthoma Mathews II
2. The late Catholicos His Holiness Baselios Marthoma Didymus I
3. The late His Grace Zachariahs Mar Dionysius
4. The late His Grace Dr Geevarghese Mar Osthatheos
5. The late His Grace Paulose Mar Pachomius
6. His Grace Dr. Yakob Mar Irenaios
7. His Grace Yacoob Mar Elias
8. The late Rev. Fr. P.K. Skariah
9. The late Rev. Fr. A.M. Varghese
10. Rev. Fr. Dr. Mathew Vaidyan
11. Rev. Fr. Dr. K.M. George
12. Rev. Fr. K.T. Varghese
13. Rev. Fr. M.K. Kurian
14. Rev. Fr. Varghese Valayil
15. Rev. Fr. Dr. Baby Varghese

Managing Committee 2019-2020
Name Designation Phone Number
Rev. Fr. Thomas Varghese Vicar +61 411 867 070
Mr. Godly Chackappan Trustee +61 411 043 000
Mr. Benoy Korah Secretary +61 435 215 768
Mr. Robin John Members
Mr. Byju Thomas Members
Mr. Sanju Cherian Members
Mrs. Minimol Joseph Members
Mrs. Senna John Members
Mr. Joy Vallikattil Members
Mr. Thomas John Auditor